early 2009 challenges!

I am not in control of everything that happens in my life but I might as well enjoy the ones I can and have control of. This early, I promised myself to slash a huge number from the TBR pile by joining two upcoming online reading challenges.

2009-read-your-own-books-challengeFirst is 2009 Read Your Own Books challenge (which will be referred and tagged from now on as RYOB 2009). The mechanics are very simple: just set a goal for how many of your OWN books you’d like to read in 2009 and read from your own collection between January 1st and December 31st, 2009. This is also a good chance to connect with fellow booklovers who joined the challenge.  Anyway, I set 50 books to finish by midnight of December 31, 2009. It roughly translates to one book per week. Absolutely, positively hopeful that I can do it. My genuine austerity measures are surely grinning in amusement with its imminent triumph, unless I decide later to do this challenge out of the house (or worse, out of town, hahaha!) =)

Second is the 2009 Themed Reading Challenge.  It is a six-month challenge with the following rules:

  1. Books should be chosen from the reader’s TBR pile (this may be an actual physical pile or a virtual pile).
  2. The goal is to read at least 4 to 6 books linked by theme.
  3. Overlaps with other challenges are allowed.
  4. Readers may change their list of books at any time.
  5. Readers may choose three different levels of participation:
  • Read at least 4 books with the same theme.
  • Read at least 5 books that share at least TWO themes.
  • Read at least 6 books that share MORE than two themes.

2009-themed-reading-challengeI’m fairly new at this so I’m going to take the first level. My chosen theme is books set in Russia (whether Imperial, Soviet or Post-Soviet).  That way, I could shove these books out of my TBR pile, all of which I obsessively hoarded from shelves just because, well, they are set in Russia. As of today, here’s my preliminary list:

  1. Gorky Park - Martin Cruz Smith
  2. Polar Star – Martin Cruz Smith
  3. Stalin’s Ghost – Martin Cruz Smith
  4. Child 44 – Tom Rob Smith
  5. The First Circle – Alexander Solzhenitsyn
  6. Special Assignments – Boris Akunin
  7. Murder on the Leviathan – Boris Akunin
  8. Nightwatch – Sergei Lukyanenko
  9. Daywatch – Sergei Lukyanenko
  10. Twilight Watch – Sergei Lukyanenko

A great thing about this reading challenge is it can overlap with other challenges.  So if I finish the nine above (I might add more, I honestly forgot all books set in Russia that I have), that would also count as nine books read out of 50 that I pledged in RYOB 2009. Neat, ‘no?

I did not expect that reading challenges are so popular in cyberspace. Before this, I was only a rather inactive member of The Sunday Salon.  I feel it’s time to jump in and really join. This is one of my favorite activities of all time anyway – reading, that is, not jumping in. Hahaha. =)

7 thoughts on “early 2009 challenges!

  1. Wow… I’m proud of you!! You go gurlfriend! I’m sure you can go more than 50 in a year. Ikaw pa? But the theme challenge is work… for me at least. I buy and read random books. The only books I’ll have with the same theme are the series books, like Harry Potter, the Inheritance trilogy (Eragon, Eldest, Brisingr), and now the Twilight series (yes, I will buy and read the others now). Otherwise, there’s no themes in the books I read. It’s whatever crosses my plate.

    Wait… so you have THAT much in your TBR pile? Wow. I only have like 15.

  2. Great picks for your Themed Challenge. You can finish off all Martin Cruze Smith’s Arkady Renko novels to increase your number. Happy reading!

  3. lai – Thanks! I realized how much work it could be and it somehow escaped me while choosing the books that it’s only a 6-month challenge! yay. and yup, i have many books in my TBR pile. greatly exceeded those i had time to read. major book hoarder talaga! this is my addiction =)

    dong – In between your adventures, I hope you can find time to grab a book! reading is fun! Nyak ang geek na ba? hehe.

    watermelon man – I initially planned reading all Arkady Renko novels but I found out that the others are set in Cuba and Ukraine (Havana Bay and Wolves Eat Dogs)so it would not fit my theme; the latest in the series, Stalin’s Ghost, is actually set in Russia again but I don’t have it yet =)

    Thanks for dropping by!

  4. Pingback: major Russia oversight « ♣ judiefication ♣

  5. Pingback: Themed Reading Challenge – 2009 – INFO & SIGN UPS – caribousmom

Leave a Reply

